The Vanishing Futurist

Title: The Vanishing Futurist

Author: Charlotte Hobson

Genre: Novel

Year of Release: 2016

Review: The 1917 Russian Revolution is in many aspects, a fascinating flashpoint in history. The political intrigues, the social upheaval, the academic innovations combined with the fall of a dynasty and widespread violence, and all fast paced – this is a goldmine for writers. What attracted me to this particular novel, apart from the funky cover, was its exploration of a lesser discussed development – that of radical communes.

With ideas and experiments beyond the communist mainstream, a commune is established by a imaginative scientist with the help of our heroine Gerty, a shy English governess. She quickly falls for this inventor, despite him apparently looking a lot like a blond stick insect. Although Gerty does spend borderline annoying amount of time moping over an old school fuck boi, she is, on the whole, likeable.

The book appeals for a renewed faith in progress, which is a lovely message, but one which I find hard to connect with the plot. The growth in state spying and propaganda can hardly be considered as improvements, no matter any good intentions.

This is an interesting book, with some cracking ideas and a charming message, just a bit too hopeful for lil’ cynical me.

Rating: 7 and a half stars

Quote: “I can feel even now the tiny, rebellious frisson that rose up in me in response. I assure you, I thought, I’ll do my best to encounter untowardness. ‘Untoward!’ shall be my motto.”

Leave a comment